If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

What does Bronze Medallion consist of?

The aim of this course is to provide participants with skills and knowledge related to surf awareness, aquatic rescue operations, radio operations, resuscitation, emergency care, spinal management, communication, teamwork and Surf Life Saving patrol operations.

How difficult is Bronze Medallion?

To qualify to do the Bronze Medallion you must be able to swim 400m under 9 minutes (or 8:45 at Bronte Surf Club). For some people, this can be challenging, especially if you have not been swimming regularly or if you are a self-taught swimmer.

What is the difference between Bronze Medallion and bronze cross?

Bronze Cross and Standard First Aid Candidates in the Bronze Cross program must have a Bronze Medallion. Bronze Cross is designed for lifesavers who want the challenge of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities.

How do I prepare for bronze medallion?

  1. Check requirements! The pre-requisite for Bronze Medallion is to be either 13 years old or a Bronze Star holder.
  2. Swim!
  3. Sleep!
  4. Bring snacks!
  5. Bring 2-3 towels!
  6. Check the Weather!
  7. Check your email!

How long does it take to do bronze medallion?

Gain your Surf Life Saving Bronze Medallion, a worldwide recognised qualification in a 4 day intensive course. This is the ultimate course for those wishing to become a Surf Lifesaver.

Does Bronze Cross come before Bronze Medallion?

The Bronze Cross is a certification in water rescue that is the mainstay of the lifesaving training offered in Canada, and awarded by the Royal Life Saving Society of Canada. Before one can take the Bronze Cross course, the Bronze Medallion (Canada) is required.

What comes first Bronze Star or medallion?

Each patrol has three components: H2O Proficiency, First Aid and Rescue. The Society recommends that candidates take the Bronze Star course before taking the Bronze Medallion.

What are the bronze swimming levels?

Swim Patrol has three levels: Rookie, Ranger, and Star. These programs continue to develop participants’ swim strokes and provide the skill foundation that prepares them for success in the Society’s Bronze Medal awards.

What do you do for a Bronze Medallion?

To commence training for the Bronze Medallion you must: Complete an unaided swim of 400 m in 9 minutes or less (goggles and masks permitted) in a swimming pool of not less than 25 m, or over a measured open water course which will be observed prior to you undertaking any water training or assessment activities.

What are the components of a bronze medallion?

Judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness – the four components of water rescue – form the basis of Bronze Medallion training. Candidates acquire the assessment and problem-solving skills needed to make good decisions in, on, and around the water.

What do you need for a bronze medallion in Canada?

Bronze Medallion (Canada) Bronze Medallion includes water safety, rescues, resuscitation, and an introduction to spinal injury management. It is the prerequisite for Bronze Cross; Standard First Aid with CPR-C and 16 years of age are the prerequisites for National Lifeguard Service. The Bronze Medallion endurance swim requirement is 500 meters…

What do you need for a lifeguard bronze medallion?

Stroke mechanics, endurance, and rescue of others are included. Bronze Medallion is a prerequisite for assistant lifeguard training in the Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Cross. Includes a 400 meter timed swim within 12 minutes.

How long do you have to swim to get a bronze medallion?

The Bronze Medallion endurance swim requirement is 500 meters (550 yd) in 15 minutes using any combination of strokes. Lifesaving Society’s Bronze Medallion program began in 1896 as Canada’s first lifesaving certification program.