If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

What certifications are available to LPNs?

Here are some specific certifications that can help you advance your career as an LPN:

  • IV Therapy. An IV therapy certification allows you to start IVs in patients for intravenous therapies.
  • Long-Term Care.
  • Pharmacology.
  • Nephrology.
  • Urology.
  • Wound Care.
  • Correctional Health.
  • Hospice and Palliative Care.

Can LPNs have a specialty?

However, LPNs are not limited to basic nursing functions. They are also able to become certified in specific specialties. The National Association of Practical Nurse Education and Service (NAPNES) provides several certifications.

What is an advanced LPN?

Licensed practical nurses represent the profession’s entry level, while advanced practice nurses represent the highest level of clinical nursing.

Can an LPN Be a Wocn?

Hold a current LPN/LVN or RN license. Complete the WOCN Society’s WTA Program, or the WEB WOC Skin and Wound Care Associate (SWA®) course within the past five (5) years, under the direction of an approved WOCNCB nurse and hold a current WTA Program or SWA® Program certificate of completion.

Can LPNs become IV certified?

Certain states have specific guidelines for IV therapy training for LPNs often referred as IV certification for LPNs. Almost all states allow LPNs with education and training to perform certain intravenous therapy procedures as delegated by a registered nurse, physician or licensed independent practitioner.

What is a WTA certification?

The Wound Treatment Associate (WTA) Program developed by the WOCN Society is a continuing education program to further empower wound, ostomy, and continence specialty nurses and improve patient outcomes by enhancing their wound team. The WTA Program prepares non-specialty nurses to provide basic, bedside wound care.

What kind of certification can you get as an LPN?

There are many certifications you can earn, but here are some of the most popular and in-demand by health care employers: One of the most-popular types of certificate programs for LPNs, IV certification allows you to administer IV therapy.

What can LPN do with Advanced Life Support certification?

A certification in pediatric advanced life support allows LPNs to work in pediatric care. 4. Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) Practical nurses with advanced cardiac life support certification are trained how to heart-related emergencies and cardiac arrest. 5. Basic Life Support (BLS)

What do LPNs need to know about IV therapy?

IV therapy-certified LPNs demonstrate competency in: It is important for LPNs to recognize that each state has individualized scope of practice laws, and they should be familiar with them. According to the NAPNES, this certification replaces the former Gerontology Certification.

Can a LPN take a didactic IV therapy course?

In some states, IV therapy education is frequently completed during an LPN program. The programs allow LPNs to sit for the certification exam. Other states have didactic IV therapy courses. IV therapy-certified LPNs demonstrate competency in: