If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

Who Illustrated Gormenghast?

Mervyn Laurence Peake
Mervyn Peake. Mervyn Laurence Peake (9 July 1911 – 17 November 1968) was an English writer, artist, poet, and illustrator. He is best known for what are usually referred to as the Gormenghast books. The four works were part of what Peake conceived as a lengthy cycle, the completion of which was prevented by his death.

How many pages is Gormenghast?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780879516284
Publication date: 12/01/1995
Series: Gormenghast Trilogy
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 1200

What genre is Gormenghast?

Gothic fiction
Fantasy of manners

When was Gormenghast written?

Gormenghast was published in 1950 and won the 1950 Royal Society of Literature award (and the 1951 Heinemann Award for Literature along with Peake’s collection of poetry, The Glassblowers).,. Titus Alone, written during Peake’s struggle with terminal illness, was published in 1959.

What order should I read Gormenghast?

Titus Groan1946
Gormenghast1950Titus Alone1959Titus Awakes2014

When was Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake first published?

Designed by Robert Hollingsworth, the three illustrated paperbacks Titus Groan (first published in 1946) Gormenghast (1950) and Titus Alone (1959) were housed in a case decorated with Peake drawings.

Who was the illustrator of the Gormenghast trilogy?

A recent conversation with artist John Frankland about the work of Mervyn Peake (9 July 1911 – 17 November 1968) has brought me back to one of my most treasured possessions: the 1970 Penguin edition of Peake’s masterpiece Gormenghast.

Who was the author of the first book in the Gormenghast series?

The first book contained an introduction by Anthony Burgess, who applied Mervyn Peake’s description of Gormenghast to the work: “The term ‘a certain ponderous architectural quality’ exactly conveys what we are in for.”