If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

Which are the co-official languages of Spain?

Co-Official Languages

  • Catalan/Valencian/Balear.
  • Galego (Galician)
  • Basque.
  • Occitan/Aranese.

How many co-official languages are there in Spain?

five co-official
Spain has five co-official languages: Castilian Spanish. Catalan. Galician.

How many countries have Spanish as their official or co-official language?

21 countries
A: Spanish is the official language in 21 countries and a significant minority language in four more territories, including the United States. Q: Arabic is spoken predominantly in how many countries? A: Arabic is an official language in 22 sovereign states.

Where is Spanish a co-official language?

Spanish is the official or co-language of the following countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, Venezuela and Spain.

Is Spanish the only official language in Spain?

Spain/Official languages

Why does Spain have 4 official languages?

The Constitution also made space for Spain’s other languages, stating that they would be official in their respective self-governing regions and that they represented a cultural heritage that would be respected and protected. Today there are four co-official languages in Spain: Basque.

Is Chile a Spanish speaking country?

The Republic of Chile is an overwhelmingly Spanish-speaking country (Although Chilean Spanish has words of its own and that aren’t used in other Spanish countries), with the exceptions of isolated native, who also speak Spanish as a first language and immigrant communities.

Is Catalan an official language?

Catalan language

Is Arabic spoken in Spain?

Today, Arabic is once again a major language of Spain. It’s widely spoken among residents of Ceuta—which, along with Melilla, is one of two Spanish exclaves in North Africa—and increasingly by Spain’s population of Moroccan immigrants.

What part of Spain speaks Catalan?

It is the official language of Andorra, and a co-official language of three autonomous communities in eastern Spain: Catalonia, the Valencian Community, and the Balearic Islands….Catalan language.

Pronunciation [kətəˈla], [valensiˈa]
Native to Spain, Andorra, France, Italy
Ethnicity Aragonese Balears Catalans Valencians

Which is the co official language of Spain?

There are four co-official languages: Euskara, Galego, Català and Valencià. Euskara is the co-official language of the Basque Country (el País Vasco in Spanish, Euskadi in Euskara), which is situated in the north-east of Spain.

How many people in Spain speak Catalan language?

Like all the languages in Spain, Catalan is a romance language. Around 9 million people speak Catalan fluently, and over 30% of people in the Catalonia region of Spain speak it as a native language. Even though Catalan is spoken in Spain, it is surprisingly different from Castilian Spanish.

Are there any Romance languages spoken in Spain?

With the exception of Basque, which is a language isolate, all of the vernacular languages spoken now in Spain are Romance languages, within the family of the Indo-European languages.

Which is the official language of Andorra and Spain?

One estimate suggests that there are around 10 million Català speakers in Spain. Català is also the official language of Andorra, the co-official language of the Balearic Islands (las Islas Baleares), Valencia, and the Italian city of Alghero.