BookRiff

If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

What does an insurance commissioner do in Washington state?

The Office of the Insurance Commissioner, headed by Commissioner Mike Kreidler, oversees Washington state’s insurance industry to protect consumers and make sure that companies, agents and brokers follow the rules.

How much does the Washington State Insurance Commissioner make?

Washington Commissioner of Insurance
General information
Office Type: Partisan
Office website: Official Link
Compensation: $133,250

What can an insurance commissioner do?

What does an insurance commissioner do? Insurance commissioners act as advocates for consumer protection, regulators of insurance, and educators who are able to provide consumers with information that pertains to the insurance system within a particular state.

Who oversees insurance companies in Washington state?

state Office of the Insurance Commissioner
Washington state Office of the Insurance Commissioner.

How do I contact the Washington State insurance Commissioner?

Need More Help?

  1. Call us at 800-562-6900.
  2. Contact the insurance commissioner.

Who is in charge of insurance companies?

the California Department of Insurance
In California, health insurance is regulated by the California Department of Insurance (CDI). Our mission is to protect consumers, foster a vibrant and stable insurance marketplace, and enforce laws related to health insurance and the health insurance code fairly and impartially.

Who is Washington state’s current insurance commissioner?

Mike Kreidler
Mike Kreidler is Washington’s eighth insurance commissioner. A former member of Congress, he was first elected as insurance commissioner in 2000. He was re-elected to a sixth term in 2020.

How old do you have to be to run for insurance commissioner in Washington state?

U.S. Representative. U.S. Representatives must be at least 25 years of age, have been a citizen of the U.S. for seven years, and be a registered voter of the state from which he or she is elected.

What is the maximum fine that can be imposed by the commissioner to a producer who violates an insurance law?

Any person who violates the provisions of Section 780 or 781 is punishable by a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), or in a case in which the loss of the victim exceeds ten thousand dollars ($10,000), by a fine not exceeding three times the amount of the loss suffered by the victim, by …

Who governs the insurance companies?

Introduction. Insurance is regulated by the states. This system of regulation stems from the McCarran-Ferguson Act of 1945, which describes state regulation and taxation of the industry as being in “the public interest” and clearly gives it preeminence over federal law. Each state has its own set of statutes and rules.

How do I complain to the insurance commissioner?

In case if it is not resolved within 15 days or if you are unhappy with their resolution you can approach the Grievance Redressal Cell of the Consumer Affairs Department of IRDAI: Call Toll Free Number 155255 (or) 1800 4254 732 or. Send an e-mail to [email protected]

Who is the current insurance commissioner of Washington state?