If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

What are the four overarching principles of the EYFS framework?

personal, social and emotional development – helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in …

What is assessment in EYFS?

Assessment in the EYFS is of two main types – on-going assessment which is what practitioners do on a daily basis to make decisions about what the child has learned or can do already so as to help the child move on in their learning – this is sometimes called ‘formative’ assessment because it informs the next steps …

What are the main aims of the EYFS?

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children to achieve the Every Child Matters outcomes of staying safe, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well being. They also contribute to their own children’s learning and the EYFSP.

What are the 4 principles of child development?

NAEYC principles of child development and learning that inform developmentally appropriate practice: Domains of children’s development–physical, social, emotional, and cognitive–are closely related.

What does EYFS mean in childcare?

early years foundation stage
The early years foundation stage ( EYFS ) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS , including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

What is Baseline Assessment EYFS?

A reception baseline assessment is an assessment of children’s skills as they begin their reception year. As of September 2021, it became a statutory assessment as part of the EYFS framework. Early years practitioners observe a child during the first few weeks of joining their group.

What does the EYFS focus on?

The key focus during EYFS is on teaching children routine and easing them into the idea of learning in a structured environment. This gets kids ready for beginning more formal teaching in KS1.

What are the principles of early learning?


  • Children always come first.
  • Every situation is a learning opportunity.
  • Child development plans build relationships and knowledge.
  • Parent and educator partnerships embrace the child.
  • Autonomous educators lead to innovation.

What are the 5 basic principles of child development?

Physical, Cognitive, Language, Social and Emotion are the five domains.

What are the four themes of the EYFS?

There are 4 themes of the EYFS – 1. Unique child 2. Positive relationships 3. Enabling environments 4. Learning and development

What are the themes of early years framework?

The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years settings, including children with special educational needs and disabilities. Within this theme are seven areas of learning and these must shape the educational programme in early years settings.

When does a child need an EYFS profile assessment?

The statutory early years foundation stage (EYFS) framework requires the EYFS profile assessment to be carried out in the final term of the year in which a child reaches age 5, and no later than 30 June in that term.

What do you need to know about EYFS regulations?

The EYFS Assessment regulations The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory requirements are a set of regulation that all Early Years childcare providers are required to adhere to. These regulations include assessments that you may need to undertake for each EYFS‐aged child in your care.