If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

What are the 6 Indian philosophies?

Over centuries, India’s intellectual exploration of truth has come to be represented by six systems of philosophy. These are known as Vaishesika, Nyaya, Samkhya, Yoga, Purva Mimansa and Vedanta or Uttara Mimansa.

What is the Indian philosophy of life?

According to the orthodox Indian philosophical view it is in achieving perfection through three goals of life: artha (prosperity), kāma (desire) and dharma (righteous living) that the fourth and the ultimate goal of life, moksha can be attained (Mohanty, 2001).

Which is the oldest Indian philosophy?

Sāmkhya. Samkhya is the oldest of the orthodox philosophical systems in Hinduism, with origins in the 1st millennium BCE. It is a rationalist school of Indian philosophy, and had a strong influence on other schools of Indian philosophies.

What are the main ideas of Indian philosophy?

Three basic concepts form the cornerstone of Indian philosophical thought: the self or soul (atman), works (karma), and liberation (moksha).

What is orthodox philosophy?

āstika, in Indian philosophy, any orthodox school of thought, defined as one that accepts the authority of the Vedas (sacred scriptures of ancient India); the superiority of the Brahmans (the class of priests), who are the expositors of the law (dharma); and a society made up of the four traditional classes (varna).

Who is the greatest Indian philosopher?

Top 10

  1. Ramakrishna (1836 – 1886) With an HPI of 82.17, Ramakrishna is the most famous Indian Philosopher.
  2. Nagarjuna (150 – 250)
  3. Jiddu Krishnamurti (1895 – 1986)
  4. Adi Shankara (788 – 820)
  5. Bodhidharma (483 – 540)
  6. Kabir (1440 – 1518)
  7. Swami Vivekananda (1863 – 1902)
  8. Sri Aurobindo (1872 – 1950)

What is the purpose of Indian philosophy?

The systems of Indian philosophy are systematic speculations on the nature of the Realty in harmony with the teachings of Upanishads, which contain various aspects of the truth. They aim at the knowledge of the Reality with a view to transforming and spiritualizing human life.

What are the two main division of Indian philosophy?

and Heterodox :- The schools or systems of Indian philosophy are divided into two broad classes, namely, orthodox (astika, Vedic) and heterodox (nastika, Non-Vedic).