If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book

How many parishes are there in Limerick?

The diocese is divided into 60 parishes, which are spread across three counties: 57 in Limerick, 18 of which are in the Limerick city area, two in Clare, and one between Limerick and Kerry. The parishes are grouped into 16 Pastoral Units, where groups of priests are appointed to cover a number of parishes between them.

How many towns are in Limerick?

This is a sortable table of the approximately 2,068 townlands in County Limerick, Ireland. Duplicate names occur where there is more than one townland with the same name in the county. Names marked in bold typeface are towns and villages, and the word Town appears for those entries in the Acres column.

Does Ireland have parishes?

There are about 2500 Civil Parishes in Ireland and they are seen as the administrative units of the State; firstly under the British and later under the Irish government. Like most genealogical sources, the Ireland XO website mostly operates on the basis of the Civil Parish. These areas are a little more complicated!

How many counties are in Limerick?

Limerick borders four other counties: Kerry to the west, Clare to the north, Tipperary to the east and Cork to the south. It is the fifth-largest of Munster’s six counties in size and the second-largest by population.

Is Limerick in Northern Ireland?

Limerick, Irish Luimneach, county, southwestern Ireland, in the province of Munster. The county’s northern boundary, with County Clare, is the River Shannon and its estuary. The River Maigue bisects County Limerick and flows north into the Shannon.

Where in Ireland is County Limerick?

About Limerick County Limerick is found on the west coast of Ireland, neighbouring with counties Clare, Kerry, Cork and Tipperary. Situated in the Golden Vale and at the mouth of the River Shannon, it has a population of approximately 191,000.

What towns are in Limerick in Ireland?

Limerick Main Towns

  • Abbeyfeale. The town of Abbeyfeale is named after the Cistercian Abbey which was founded here in 1188, near the River Feale.
  • Adare.
  • Annacotty.
  • Askeaton.
  • Ballingarry.
  • Ballyneety.
  • Bruff.
  • Bruree.

Who is famous from Limerick?

Limerick People

  • Anna Maria Bunn, Australian novelist.
  • Rose Fitzgerald, Mother of U.S. President John F. Kennedy.
  • Richard Harris, Actor.
  • Catherine Hayes, Opera singer.
  • Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland.
  • Frank McCourt, Novelist.
  • President McMahon, One-time ruler of France.
  • Kate O’Brien, Author.

What is the biggest parish in Ireland?


Ballymacelligott Baile Mhic Eileagóid
Province Munster
County County Kerry
• Total 56 km2 (22 sq mi)

How many parishes are there in Dublin?

There are 200 parishes in 16 deaneries….Pastoral responsibility.

Auxiliary Bishop Deanery No. of Parishes
Bishop Eamonn Walsh South Dublin 11
Tallaght 10
Enda Lloyd (Episcopal Vicar) Bray 15
Dún Laoghaire 9

Where is the town of Limerick?

Limerick (pronounced “LIM-rick”) is a town in York County, Maine, United States. It is part of the Portland–South Portland–Biddeford, Maine metropolitan statistical area….

Limerick, Maine
• Total 28.25 sq mi (73.17 km2)
• Land 27.14 sq mi (70.29 km2)
• Water 1.11 sq mi (2.87 km2)
Elevation 469 ft (143 m)

Is Limerick in the north or south of Ireland?

Limerick, Irish Luimneach, county, southwestern Ireland, in the province of Munster.